Where We Are Now

I’m in the throes of planning the hike itself, gathering equipment, preparing for a shakedown hike in February, and gathering money for hiking expenses as well as seeking donations for the non-profits. Looks like I’ll be leaving March 3, 2010 to travel to Springer Mountain, GA to begin the hike on March 4. Two friends from Raleigh and maybe a third from Springer Mountain are planning to begin the hike with me and accompany me for the first 2 or 3 days. Some days the details overwhelm me, but overall I’m filled with excitement and anticipation for this journey.

So far I have planned the first 2/3’s of the 719.1 mile hike with stops in Hiawassee, GA,  Neels Gap, GA, Franklin, NC, Bryson City, NC, Nantahala Outdoor Center, Gatlinburg, TN, Hot Springs, NC, and Erwin, TN. Still have a bit more planning to do, but the end point of this leg is Daleville, VA not far from Roanoke, VA (just North, in fact – not far from a Bojangles!!).

I need your prayers and encouragement and any other assistance you may feel led to provide. Please pass the word and let your friends and families know about this effort.

Please keep in mind that anyone who walks or hikes anywhere in the world can also raise money through their efforts for Hike for Hope and these non-profits – the Leukemia-Lymphoma Society, St Baldrick’s and Make-A-Wish Foundation. A day hike on a greenway or local trail by you and a few of your friends, your scout troop, senior citizens group, or by an experienced hiker on their own personnaly planned hike can all play a role in the success of this venture. The need is bigger than anything I can do by myself, so on behalf of the non-profits and the people they represent, I welcome your participation and support.

On a lighter note, I have a tentative trail name, but would welcome any suggestions! Please e-mail them to me directly at jeffrey.j.simpson@gmail.com.

Blessings to you all…Jeff

About jeffsimpsonhiker

Through-hiking the Appalachian Trail to raise money for Leukemia-Lymphoma Society, St Baldrick's and Make-A-Wish Foundation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

